bibletore.blogg.se

Over meet drag kings
Over meet drag kings









over meet drag kings

But it went a lot deeper than that, in how I intersect, just everything I do, the way I walk, and the way I change my personality for different people in different environments. And I thought that was just because I was a queer person. “I’m always very grateful to the drag community for that.”Ĭharlie: “My gender was always very fluid, I was always wearing alternative items of clothing or feeling very separate or different in whatever way. It helped me to be in spaces where I could have these open conversations about gender and talk to other people, I’m very grateful to other people who put in the emotional labour to talk to me about their queerness. “I think if I hadn’t done drag, I still would have come to the same conclusion, but it probably would have taken me a lot longer.

#OVER MEET DRAG KINGS FREE#

“And now I do embrace femininity, but from more of a free kind of way, the way like, when you see Billy Porter in a fabulous dress or Lil Nas X in a pink cowboy outfit. In lockdown, I realised that a lot of the femininity I was performing, I was performing because I thought that’s what other people wanted from me, rather than that being an authentic part of me. So it was like, ‘OK, so I’m definitely more comfortable in in costume than I am out of costume? So what does that say about me?'”īeau Jangles: “It was the same for me. “And I think all of that has been like, because I had nothing better to do other than being in drag or cosplay. But it took lockdown for me to go, ‘Actually, yeah, I’ve got all this time I think to myself and like begin to understand myself a bit better, so it’s only been in lockdown that I have outwardly said OK, I’m non-binary.’ “And it’s also becoming a character that I kind of wish I was.” How has doing drag impacted on the king’s gender outside of drag?īaron LaVey: “For a very, very long time, I understood that I wasn’t female. “And again, it’s gender expression, it’s controlling how other people perceive me, whether that be as a masculine-ish creature on the stage, or whether or not I’ve got my tits out, that’s my control over what people are seeing of me. I’m genderqueer, so I’m glad that I get to express that part of me, the proper icon and diva!”īaron LaVey: “A lot of my creativity comes through in my drag. The best thing is the intersection of all of the things I’m interested in. I’ve been doing it for just over two years now, properly. And I only really started doing make-up through drag. “And I also get to be rude to white cis men when I’m in drag, which is really fun.”Ĭharlie: “It kind of intersects with craft and with gender exploration and with intersectional feminism, and performance – I did drama.

over meet drag kings

And I get to show this person and say, ‘This is how you will think of me.’ It’s taking control of how I’m perceived, in a way. Drag Kings on their favourite thing about dragīeau Jangles: “I think for me, as a queer person never really feeling comfortable in my assigned gender, it’s a chance to present to people how I want them to see me. PinkNews caught up with Charlie, who performs as D.Sasstrus Doe, and drag kings Baron LaVey and Beau Jangles to talk about Unofficial King Pride. Organiser Charlie Bagshaw, who is creator, producer, and host of Unofficial Drag Pride, said: “Drag kings have not yet received the appreciation or cultural renown as our feminine counterparts in the media and Unofficial Drag King Pride was born out of a need to break that glass ceiling.”

over meet drag kings

Organised by Macho Man Drag UK, the free event is a celebration of all things drag king and will be raising money for raising funds for HIV/sexual health charity Terrence Higgins Trust.Īs well as donating to THT, viewers will be able to tip their favourite kings during their performances – and with the profile of drag kings on the up, now is the time to get involved. More than 50 drag kings from around the world are performing together this weekend for Unofficial King Pride, a two-day event that is being held online.











Over meet drag kings